I Am Crazy About [Breakfast at] Tiffany’s

19 Oct


audrey-hepburn-breakfast-at-tiffanys.jpg

Audrey Hepburn, as Holly Golightly

On a when I have the “mean reds”, such as today I pop in the DVD for “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and “it calms me down right away”.

Holly Golightly: “Don’t you just love it?”

Paul Varjak [Fred]: “Love what?”

h: “Tiffany’s! Isn’t it wonderful? See what I mean. How nothing bad could ever happen to you in a place like this?”

This 1961 classic, adapted from Truman Capote’s novella of the same name, was to cast Marilyn Monroe in the role of Holly Golightly, the young New York socialite in search of “the richest man under the age of 50”. I am so happy – as I am sure any Audrey Hepburn fan would be – that Audrey Hepurn was cast in what is arguably her most memorable role.

I have watched this movie over twenty times, and it never fails to make me laugh, cry, and feel like “nothing bad could happen to me” for those 115 minutes.

Excerpt:

h:
I don’t want to own anything, until I find a place where me and things go together. I’m not sure where that is, but I know what it’s like. It’s like Tiffany’s.

p:
Tiffany’s? You mean the jewelry store?

That’s right. I’m crazy about Tiffany’s. Listen. You know those days when you get the mean reds?

The mean reds? You mean, like the blues?

The blues are because you’re getting fat or it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly, you’re afraid, and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Don’t you ever get that feeling?

Sure.

When I get it, what does any good is to jump into a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away. The quietness, the proud look. Nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that made me feel like Tiffany’s, then…then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name.

One Response to “I Am Crazy About [Breakfast at] Tiffany’s”

  1. Bustopher October 23, 2007 at 9:39 am #

    The last time I watched that movie was on a Stairmaster at my gym in Tokyo – a LONG time ago! I was renting a lot of Audrey Hepburn movies back then. I love the last line – “Then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name.”

Leave a Reply

I Am Crazy About [Breakfast at] Tiffany's

19 Oct


audrey-hepburn-breakfast-at-tiffanys.jpg

Audrey Hepburn, as Holly Golightly

On a when I have the “mean reds”, such as today I pop in the DVD for “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and “it calms me down right away”.

Holly Golightly: “Don’t you just love it?” Continue reading

One Response to “I Am Crazy About [Breakfast at] Tiffany's”

  1. Bustopher October 23, 2007 at 9:39 am #

    The last time I watched that movie was on a Stairmaster at my gym in Tokyo – a LONG time ago! I was renting a lot of Audrey Hepburn movies back then. I love the last line – “Then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name.”

Leave a Reply

