Kihachiro Kawamoto

16 Aug

I knew nothing about Kihachiro Kawamoto, but my love of Japanese puppet theater, aesthetics, and animation drew me to watch “The Book of the Dead”, and his “Shorts” at the Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley, CA. I returned to his unforgettable images, along with Masayuki Miyata’s as references for a current project. My favorite films (story+animation) were The Breaking of Branches is Forbidden (1968), Dojoji Temple (1976), and House of Flame (1979).

Kihachiro Kawamoto. The Breaking of Branches is Forbidden. 1968.

Kihachiro Kawamoto. The Breaking of Branches is Forbidden. 1968.

Kihachiro Kawamoto. Dojoji Temple. 1976.

Kihachiro Kawamoto. Dojoji Temple. 1976.

While this is not one of my favorite shorts, it is pretty funny.

This isn’t my top favorite – but I like it better than “Book of the Dead”, or “Briar Rose”, which are better known.

Leave a Reply

